Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover Review

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover was my first book by her and it automatically got me hooked to her writing! Im not kidding when I say this book gave me all the feels. I happy cried, sad cried, “oh my gosh this is too cute” cried, cried because I was crying cried. I don’t know, you name it I felt it.

Goodreads synopsis:

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

Katys experience:

I find a lot in romance books, “Love” or such declarations are made way to fast into the relationships/friendships. Colleen Hoover however made the relationships in this book play out in a way that seemed natural.  To me this whole book was believable.  There were moments of exaggerated drama and maybe a little bit of questionable sexual actions, but it all seemed plausible.  I’m big on books being believable in terms of timing, situations, interactions, etc and Colleen Hoover nailed each for me. The characters were also so lovable, I mean I really admired Sydney and all she went through because I have seen it happen to friends.  She was so independent, brave, and mature.  What I loved most was even in the end when she could have had the guy right away, or even moved in with him, she continued to live on her own, worked rigorously to afford her rent and schooling, and generally did her own thing.  It’s not often you find a book that doesn’t play up this idea that a girl needs to jump right into a relationship and not have her own life.  Ridge was also just amazing, such a great guy. There isn’t even another way to describe him, he’s just a good human being. He’s had life throw him some horrible curve balls, but he remains a nice, caring, loyal person and it just makes you melt! At least he made me melt! These two main characters were phenomenal, but even the side characters were fun and lovable, I’d personally love to be friends with Warren if he existed.

Overall this book was a must read! I loved it from beginning to end and read it in one day, which doesn’t happen all too often. I can’t gush enough!

Leave a Reply

