Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

WOW BABY!  Colleen Hoover just spiced things up a bit!  Ugly Love was a very sexy and sensual read.  At times it was also a bit graphic.  Although it’s not my most favorite of Colleen’s books I still rate it 4 stars.  I didn’t get all the feels I usually get in her books
but I still enjoyed it and finished this book in one sitting.  I cried, laughed, and totally fell in love with the sultry main male character, talk about steamy!!  If you’ve read this book and Miles didn’t turn you on, I’d have to say you are crazy, cause mmm gosh darn.  Sorry DJ, I love you, but in terms of fictional characters I think I just found my new fictional boyfriend.  Not only was the male lead totally hot, but I was also captivated by a mysterious back story with hints at serious heart break.  Ugly Love was quite simply about the ugliest parts of love, but being able to accept them and learn to live again, finding happiness and embracing it.  (But with a whole lot of sex thrown in)

Goodreads Synopsis

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Katy’s Experience

This book may be one of the more graphic books I have ever read, and as I am a bit modest, I thought at times it was a little much.  Every good romance has its more detailed scenes which is totally fine, I’m not a prude.  But when a book becomes more about sexual scenes than a story I start to lose interest.  I think Colleen Hoover almost crosses the line but doesn’t quite go that far.  For the first 150 pages I was sure it was going to be more about sex than a romance, but what kept me interested was knowing there was more to Miles than met the eye and I wanted to find out his back story.  After the first 150 pages though things got more intriguing in Tate and Miles relationship, and I enjoyed seeing their feelings grow for one another even if Miles couldn’t admit them yet.  I also enjoyed the side characters, I thought each of them were unique and fun and added really well to the story line.  Especially Tate’s brother Corbin, I’d like to get to know him better too!

One other thing that threw me was the writing style for Miles chapters that took place in his past.  I wasn’t feeling it at first but the more I got used to the poetry style writing the more I actually looked forward to Miles chapters.  I found myself wanting to skip Tate’s present times chapters and go back and find out more about Miles past.  I was totally in love with Miles and his story and finding out all about him.  His story made me cry so much, and yes it was one of those cliche sad stories that romances often have, but it still made me feel so much for the guy.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes things a bit more steamy and a strong male lead who will quite literally make you melt.  It was also a really cute love story and at the end I couldn’t help but be jealous of the way things worked out between Tate and Miles.

Leave a Reply

