Starting on Etsy!

“Hey babe?” – DJ

“Ya?” – Me

“Let’s try and make Dream Catchers this weekend” – DJ

“Ok, I guess why not?” – Me

*Watch a bunch of youtube videos, spend a lot of time at Hobby Lobby and Michaels, start making them, spend a lot of money*

“DJ what if we could make them book related???” – Me

*Start searching for bookish charms, figure out how they could work, spend even more money, think about selling them, WHAT THE HELL IS ETSY, worry they won’t sell, breath*

And here we are today.  I just opened my Etsy shop and PHEW who knew it would be just as challenging as starting up this blog.  I think it’s safe to say I am not very web savvy.  It has been a whirl wind of crazy the past two weeks.  After DJ’s two sisters left my depression hit an all time low.  I sat in DJ’s arms and cried for hours and didn’t even know I was crying.  I was back to having nothing to do all the time and being so lonely and bored.  Don’t get me wrong I love being on my own and being independent.  But humans by nature enjoy company or some sort of activities that stimulate us, and having neither for so long really gets to a person.  Where I live currently offers very little unless I want to make long drives everyday.  I am counting the days until we move back to CT and I can start working again!!

Well, crafting dream catchers certainly has filled my time.  Disappointingly though I haven’t even had any time to read!  I have a huge May TBR and if I hope to even make a dent in it I will need to take a serious breather.  So, after starting to make my ideas come to life, we decided we wanted to try and sell them.  I would have never even thought of these ideas if I had never joined the book Instagram community to begin with.  It’s crazy the ideas and creativity that can spark from these awesome social media communities and from reading more.  It took us some time to figure out charms to use and then get them shipped and sent to us, figure out where to save money on certain things so we wouldn’t have to charge so much, and what looked good and what didn’t.  Figuring out shipping costs and international shipping and listing prices was probably one of the hardest parts. Quite frankly I don’t think I have it quite figured out yet!  Also did you know you have to file taxes on your Etsy shop? Well that still has me utterly confused but I think I’ll focus on seeing if things sell first. We have so many different ideas and ones that could be awesome, but with dream catchers its tricky to make them work the way you plan.  It’s a process and we want to keep trying so hopefully one of these days we will make one of our great ideas work!

After selling my first product, I got so excited. WHOOP! But then cue the total nervous break down.  What if they don’t like it? What if it gets damaged during shipping? What if it falls apart? What if, what if, what if???  Then the feelings of doubt on the shop in general hit; oh no is anyone else going to buy? We spent quite a bit, will it be worth it? Ugh, maybe this was a bad idea?  Man my mind is a dangerous place, I tell ya.  I just have to be positive and remind myself I wouldn’t have put something out there if I wouldn’t buy it myself.  Not only that but with all the bookmark and book related mug shops popping up, DJ and I are making something unique.  Not that I don’t hoard bookmarks and mugs but I think its fun to see something different.

So as with anything, the new Etsy shop is just another adventure.  It could succeed or it could fail but either way DJ and I got to learn how to do something fun and we got to do it together.  If you’d like to visit our new Etsy shop, here is the link: Katy’s Library Boutique

Leave a Reply

