Hopeless by Colleen Hoover *Review*

5/5 stars!

You know those books that you start and they seem totally fine, good story fun characters etc and so forth.  You just never see any possible plot twist coming cause why would you, it’s a romance and there may be little drama here or there, there’s no reason to expect anything crazy.  But then BAM, shit gets real.  This book went from simple, to mysterious, to very serious and completely heartbreaking in 5 seconds.  How Colleen Hoover manages to talk about such deep and very real issues in our world that people face and make it so honest and not romanticize these issues is beyond me.  Although this was a romance, I felt this story was so much more than that.  It was a story of learning about your past, confronting it, and moving forward.  Acknowledging that humanity is awful but also beautiful.  There just happened to be an amazing relationship formed in the mist of it all.  All the stars to this moving and heart breaking story, and I’m officially adding Dean Holder to my book boyfriends list!

“I want to tell you exactly how I feel but there isn’t a single goddamned word in the entire dictionary that can describe this point between liking you and loving you, but I need that word.  I need it because I need you to hear me say it.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My Experience:

After the first few pages I immediately like Sky, the female lead.  She’s been homeschooled her whole life with a best friend living right next door, has no access  to technology, makes out with guys and doesn’t feel anything towards them, doesn’t care what people think of her, and is starting her last year of high school in public school.  She runs for fun which may be the only thing I can relate to with her but she is interesting and independent and I like how refreshing it is to have a female character be smart, independent, and sure of herself.  As soon as Holder walks into the scene though I automatically see the appeal.  Many people told me as I was reading this book or before I even started that I would fall in love with Holder.  So I guess my expectations were pretty high, and I was not let down.  He’s hard to read at times, but adorably cute.  As Colleen Hoover describes him so adamantly through out the book, he is passionate in a way that isn’t seen very often.  He feels life he doesn’t just live it.  Which is what makes his character so much more intriguing and lovable.

“Fuck all the firsts, Sky.  The only thing that matters to me with you are the forevers.”

I also can’t leave out Sky’s “new very best friend in the world” she meets her first day at public school, Breckin.  Sky’s real best friend Six went to Europe at the start of the book and as much as she seems like a great character we don’t see much of her.  So Breckin is an awesome addition.  He’s the gay proud rich best friend that makes situations fun and calls it like he sees it.  I felt like he was such a great character in this book and without him the book certainly would have been missing something.

As stated earlier, this book becomes very serious and I won’t give away the story line or the plot, but I will say it makes me hate people.  It makes me so angry that this goes on in our world and people go through this at the hands of others who they should trust.  I can’t tell you how many times I cried for Sky or wanted to punch the living hell out of some people.  Colleen Hoover brought light to a very serious issue and I never felt once that it was to enhance or romanticize the story, but to actually help others and teach others about this.  I loved that in the back of the book she also added suicide help lines, and although the plot line isn’t about suicide it is a part of the book and I really appreciate Colleen Hoover helping others reach out for help if they need it.

This book was a roller coaster but it was beautiful.  As much as I hated humanity reading through this, I loved it too.  There is good and there is evil, but as long as we all can get through that evil we will always find the good.

“I’ll probably get knocked down a few more times before this life is through with me, but I can guarantee you I’ll never stay on the ground.”

Leave a Reply

