One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid *Review*

How do you write a review of a book so perfect that you feel your review won’t do it justice?  I’ve come to terms with the fact that my review won’t do this book the justice it deserves, but I’ll write it anyways because this book needs to be shared to the world.  Taylor Jenkins Reid tore my heart apart and then with the expertise of an experienced tailor she sewed my heart back up.  Her book is a beautiful piece of work and my heart isn’t quite the same as it was before I started.  I do not envy the female lead in this book, who has the hardest choice to make, choosing who her forever is.  But I can honestly say I felt everything the main character felt and am left still feeling and thinking about everything after its all said and done.  My heart is happy and content, but it’s also still a bit sad.  A very real bittersweet feeling.  After I put this book down I grabbed myself a glass of wine.  I found myself needing to reach for comfort.  Even though this story ends in the best way, my heart still hurts and smiles at the same time and I needed something to calm my feelings down.  And after I write this review I’ll probably bake some muffins for even more comfort.  Amazing that a book can do this to a person, but like I said, how do you review a book so gosh darn perfect?

“It breaks my heart to be loved like this, to be loved so purely that I’m capable of breaking a heart.”

Goodreads Synopsis

From the author of Maybe in Another Life—named a People Magazine pick and a “Best Book of the Summer” by Glamour and USA Today—comes a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

My Experience

This was my range of emotions completely laid out start to finish.  I was immediately pulled in, I was happy, then sad, then happy, then confused and eager about who Emma, the main character, would choose.  Then I decided who I wanted her to choose, then she decided and I was heartbroken even though she picked who I wanted her too.  Then I wished the one who wasn’t chosen could still have one more day with her, because I wasn’t ready for them to be over.  Then I was happy with who she picked and them finally being back together, and now that its ended I’m content even though I’m still sort of sad yet happy.  Seriously my emotions were all over the place and a complete mess.  Taylor Jenkins Reid has an amazing way with words.  She made me feel everything Emma felt and she made me think about my life, life in general, how to handle love and how to handle loss and how to just live.  I learned so much from this book even though I doubt I myself will ever be in any sort of similar situation.  It just makes you think and the lessons can be applied to your life whether or not you’re in as dramatic a situation or not.  My favorite lesson in this book was about “what ifs” and just coming to terms with them by saying “but it did”.  Instead of wondering “what if this never happened..” you just say “but it did..” Because you can’t change the past and you just need to keep going forward.  As simple of a lesson as it was, the way Reid wrote it out just made it so obviously perfect.  That this is how we should be looking at all our “what ifs” instead of lingering on them forever.

I couldn’t tell you who I wanted her to pick until over half way through the book.  And while I won’t tell you who she picked I did find it fairly obvious.  However, I think thats totally ok.  Because as stated before even when she makes her choice it still kills your for the other person.  Reid makes you fall in love with both guys and part of me wishes she could rewrite the book with an alternate ending.  I just want to see how either option would play out.  I loved both guys and I’m not even Emma and this isn’t even real, but imagine if it were.  Wow, have I never been more happy in my life that only one guy loves me.

A beautiful new story of heart break and true loves, because you can have more than one in your lifetime, I give this book all the stars.  I will reread it time and time again because I love feeling the love that is felt between these characters.  I love reading life lessons that make me think.  And I love how this book, pure and simple, made me feel every emotion.  Go read this right away, it won’t disappoint you!

“There is nothing more romantic than this.  Holding the very person that you thought you lost, and knowing you’ll never lose them again”

Leave a Reply

