Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Hi guys! I haven’t reviewed a book in a month and I apologize I’ve been so crazy busy and stressed and just in a total slump.  But I just finished Lola and the Boy Next Door and it was totally adorable!  Riddled with the usual cliches and predictability of a YA romance, it still features unique lovable characters that I loved watching grow and reading about.  Not only that but I enjoyed seeing the appearances of Anna and St. Clair from Anna and the French Kiss.  I give this read a solid 4 stars.

Goodreads Synopsis

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

My Experience

From the beginning I thought Lola was a little odd and in a way it sort of frustrated me.  Not that being odd is bad or that expressing yourself in crazy clothing styles is bad, but I just feel like I could never really see who she really was.  As if Stephanie herself had a hard time figuring out in which direction to really make Lola go in terms of sense of self.  But her uniqueness and witty charm made me like her none-the-less as the story unfolded.  And it seemed by the end she understood more how to let her true self shine through even when dressed in her elaborate outfits.  I also liked the different characters that made up this story from the gay dads, to the problematic birth mom, the Nancy Drew obsessed best friend, and the kind inventor boy next door.  They all were so diverse and I felt this put a fresh spin on the YA romance genre.  Reading about different life styles gives new perspectives and I admire Stephanie for adding in more than just the standard black and white characters.  Each character is as eccentric and unique as Lola and I think thats what makes this story even more fun.

One of the standard cliches for YA romance are ones like “girl loves guy, believes he’s the one, everyone else is wrong”  Well thats how this book starts off and because of this it makes the rest of the book very predictable, but thats ok.  It’s relatable.  We’ve all been 17 and we all have had a crush or a relationship or what not that we thought was “it” and then later on realized “LOL I WAS SO DUMB”.  I’m just glad that in this book the situation of moving from one guy to the other was handled a bit better than in Anna.

Overall this book was a cute and easy read and I can’t wait to get to Isla and the Happily Ever After.

“It’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else”

 

 

Leave a Reply

