It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s newest book hits all the emotions once again but this time in a way that is so honest and real that this has to be my favorite book by her yet.  Surprisingly I didn’t sob the way I usually do in her novels.  Don’t get me wrong tears were shed, but I feel that this book was so raw and empowering that by the end I didn’t feel the need to ugly cry.  I felt that I now could face the world with a whole new understanding on a situation that effects millions of men and women.  Colleen Hoover was not only able to turn a very personal and emotional part of her life into a story, but make it into a powerful learning experience.  It allows those who have been through this to feel understood and for those who haven’t gone through it to understand a little bit more the minds of those who have gone through it.  If by some weird chance you walked away from this book not liking it, I feel you have missed the point entirely.  If you haven’t read this book yet, please do yourself a favor and pick it up, I think every single person needs to read it.

Goodreads Synopsis

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

My Experience

Lily Bloom has become one of my favorite female protagonists of CoHo’s books.  I usually love all of Colleen’s female characters but Lily to me was the most motivating and a genuine role model.  I connected with her automatically.  If not for the fact that she’s around my age, but also because her and I use gardening as a way to escape.  I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have the same dream to open up my own gardening shop.  She was such a breath of fresh air compared to a lot of female leads we see in novels these days and I think for many generations to come that this book gets passed down to, she will be someone to look up too.  She reminds us all to “just keep swimming” and I wish more than anything I could give her a big ol’ hug.

The part that breaks my heart the most is just how amazing Colleen Hoover’s writing truly is.  She makes me love both Atlas and Ryle.  She makes me love Ryle even when I should hate him.  She makes me completely understand where Lily is coming from.  To question what would I do in their situation, would my I let my limit keep getting pushed or would I get out?  For the first time in a long time a book has taught me so much and made me realize that we can’t ever judge anyones situation.  We just have to be there to help and hope they can do the right thing for themselves.

I doubt Colleen will ever read my review but if she does I’d like to take a second to thank her. When I was in high school I went through my own situation similar to this although luckily I got out and it was never as bad as your moms situation or Lily and her moms situation.  It still is so amazing to see someone speak to something they know personally and spread awareness.  To let people know they aren’t alone and there is always someone who understands.  Thank you for teaching me to continue to realize there is so much more behind each persons story and to never see it as just black and white.  Thank you for helping others understand something that is so entirely hard to make understandable.  Thank you for your honesty and bravery.  Thank you for Lily, someone I will always look up to. And thank you for giving me a book I know I will recommend to many others and one day if I have a daughter, pass down to her.

“There is no such thing as bad people, we’re all just people who sometimes do bad things”

3 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

    1. Ahhh Anj you must read this, and oh gosh howd I not even realize you were on WordPress?!?! I’m sorry my dear! Thank you for nominating me thats so sweet of you!❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

