P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

I am internally squealing over the adorableness that is this book!  It reminded me a bit of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series.  P.S. I Like You was cute, funny, and refreshingly light compared to many of the books I’ve been reading lately and I couldn’t put it down.  I finished this gem in a day! Kasie West is a new author to me, but I am now dedicated to finding more of her books and including them to my library.  If this book says anything at all about her writing I know I am in for more fun, easy, and relatable stories.   Not only was this book light hearted and incredibly cute but it was perfect for all those high schoolers out there getting ready to go back to school as August comes to a close.  Quite frankly it would be a perfect book if you were right in the middle of the school year.  It gives life back to the good old fashion hand written word and makes the idea of approaching high school romance so much more realistic.  All I can say is I wish I had read this while in high school, I think it would have given me the courage to write the guy I was crushing on a note!

Goodreads Synopsis

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My Experience

Lily is the cutest heroin I have read in a while.  She is relatable and realistic and flawed and that is what makes her beautiful to me as a reader.  I found myself giggling over her many habits or things she would say.  When she would talk to herself I would sit there and nod knowingly, it just happens guys, it can’t be controlled!  Even though Lily gets embarrassed or worries about others judging her like any other high school student she still is so true to herself and is such a kind and decent person.  I couldn’t help wishing I had had a friend like her in high school.

I think the ultimate relationship was pretty predictable but thats ok because by the time it happened I was totally in love with them.  Im not so secretly hoping for a sequel so I can know what happened with the contest and with these two love birds!  Fingers crossed Kasie West!

Funny and relatable this has become one of the best reads of my summer, do yourself a favor and pick it up!

Leave a Reply

