The 52nd by Dela

I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review! Thank you so much Dela!

Synopsis

Not one of the sacrifices chosen over the long history had survived–until now.

On the tip of the Yucatan peninsula, the immortal Castillo family gathers in Tulum. Weary and haunted, they receive the names of fifty-two human sacrifices chosen once every fifty-two years for the Underworld, a tradition thought to have disappeared with the fall of the Aztec and Mayan empires.

Driving home one night, college freshman Zara Moss swerves to avoid hitting a ghastly figure in the road. Lucas Castillo witnesses the car crash, but when it comes time to supervise her abduction from the wreckage, he intervenes. Something is different about Zara: Lucas has been having dreams of her arrival for five hundred years.

As Lucas and Zara come together to put an end to the bloody sacrifices, they discover that the ancient tradition isn’t so easily broken. The gods are angry, and they have until the Winter Solstice to drag Zara to the Underworld.

My Experience

I really enjoyed all the Mayan and Aztec cultures and histories through out this book and it was such a breath of fresh air to have different characters than normal. It seems all I see on TV or read about in books lately are about zombies or vampires or werewolves. So a new book set with totally different cultural characters was awesome. I loved the idea of Gods and Goddesses and the underworld and the rituals, it all kept me wanting to read more and find out what happens next! I mean bloody rituals and steamy gods duh of course you have to keep reading!

Some things I didn’t quite love though was the middle of the book was a bit stretched out and got a bit boring at times to me and I didn’t really feel the connection between Zara and Lucas as much as I probably should have… I sort of thought Lucas was written in a way that came across very full of himself to point of it being annoying and Zara was just a little too flaky. I guess the teen angst and back and forth-ness of it all just didn’t sit well with me. Also, the story line was very similar to Twilight and while I love Twilight and I love this sort of story I’d really have loved it to be its own story and not have so many comparisons.

Overall I think this was a fun adventure and I’m excited for the next book in the series!! If you were a lover of Twilight, or just love YA fiction, romance, Mayan and Aztec culture, danger and intrigue, and of course pet jaguars 🙂 pick this book up and give it a try!

Leave a Reply

