A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J Maas

I LOVED THIS BOOK. I have no idea what took me so long to get to these books but I’m so glad I finally did. I was intrigued from chapter 1 which for me doesn’t always happen. And I really enjoyed the subtle beauty and the beast retelling. I’m a sucker for any retelling so this just put the cherry on top. The world building to me was beautiful and easy to imagine.  I have heard this is some peoples least favorite in the series, and I can see that, it isn’t my favorite, but I don’t dislike it any less either.  I like that it actually is a bit slower and lets us get a solid idea of the world and the characters. By the end of this book I can definitely say I felt as if I were in that world, could see those sights and smell those smells.  To me this was the perfect beginning to this trilogy!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

My Experience:

I was a fan of Feyre right away.   A lot of times recently the heroines of books really annoy me because they harp too long on something or throw weird tantrums, I don’t know, but Feyre felt really personable and I connected with her easily.  Not only was she personable but she was also a total badass.  Hunting to provide for her family, getting sucked into this world and fighting for her life, all while keeping true to herself.  Role model material to me!

As the story and plot got more involved I read faster and faster. Totally immersing myself in the land of Fae. The beautiful, horrible land of Prythian. The characters all unique and fun as well and I couldn’t help but love all of them. Especially Lucien, he just seems like a friend I’d want to have. And even the villains drew me deeper into this world.  I didn’t want to leave Prythian, as I said before I felt I was in this world myself.  Can’t ask for a better story than one that makes you feel like you’re right there in it.

I gobbled up this book and loved every second. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Let me know your thoughts!

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

