A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

One of my favorite reads of the year so far!!! 5 WHOLE STARS!!!  Let me just wipe some tears real quick…Gah who am I kidding it’s more like a flood of tears! This book was so precious I don’t even have words. I started off wanting to dislike Ove, I thought he was sort of funny yet depressing and that was it. Then I grew to love him, and I mean just completely adore him. I think that’s one of the main points of the book. Loving someone and connecting with someone you couldn’t have ever predicted.

Goodreads Synopsis:

A grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door.

Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon, the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him the bitter neighbor from hell, but must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove’s mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents’ association to their very foundations.

My Experience:
I genuinely grew attached to each character in this book. Fredrik does an amazing job developing these characters in a way that although all different they each find a way into your heart. Pravaneh was so spunky and strong, her little girls were too funny, and the Cat Annoyance was the perfect companion. These characters will stay with me for a long while I can tell!

I couldn’t help going from laughing one chapter to crying in another. It was an emotional journey, but so beautifully written.  My gosh was it written beautifully. It was a real bookish rollercoaster! This book touched my soul and sent a powerful message about unlikely friends and acceptance.  It also spoke of just how many surprises life still has in store for us all at any age and to keep living life even when it seems we should give up!

I’m looking forward to reading more of Fredrik’s work now, but I may need a minute.  I just can’t let go of Ove, he may just be added to my list of favorite fictional characters of mine.  Do yourself a favor and read this beautiful, humorous and touching contemporary read, it is well worth the rollercoaster of emotions!

Leave a Reply

