Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

4 easy stars!

I read this in one sitting, which if you know me doesn’t happen often. This book was just so cute and fluffy and a quick read it was easy to breeze right through. Sometimes I just need a cute contemporary YA read to pick me up and make me feel good in between all the more dense and involved stories!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

My Experience:

Jessie the main character is relatable on so many levels. Although I’ve never experienced the loss she has the way she is as a person reminds me exactly of myself. She also says stuff like awesomesauce which I say all the time and she likes a guy who wears batman shirts and she loves Harry Potter. Now Jessie is definitely a girl after my own heart! She’s also spunky and funny, I found myself laughing a few times in this book!

“My life is a shit sandwich, with a side of jizz veggie burger” 😂

I think Jessie is a great character for young girls to look up too as well. Navigating high school is one of the hardest times of anyone’s life, and Jessie does it in a way that I wish I had done when I was 16.

I loved the idea of a secret messanger as like Jessie I’m a hopeless romantic. While I sort of thought the identity of SN was a bit predictable I wasn’t 100% sure who exactly it was until the end.

This book touches on loss and grief and change at a time in one’s life that everything seems huge and never ending. But things can and do always get better and ita expressed so wonderfully in this hopeful, feel good book that I highly recommend for anyone looking for a quick light and fun read!

“But sometimes a kiss is not a kiss is not a kiss. Sometimes it’s poetry.”

2 thoughts on “Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

    1. I had seen this around and then i finally was going to signing that Julie was also going to be at so I knew it was time to pick it up. I read it in one afternoon which is unheard of for me since I’m such a slow reader! It was a really quick, fun read I definitely suggest it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

