Wonder Woman Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

I really, reallyyyy enjoyed this book.  And while I would love to give it 5 stars on principle because it’s WONDER WOMAN, I have to stick with 4 stars, which still means I REALLY LIKED IT, how could you not?  Badass females, diversity, humor, greek mythology, adventure and action, yes please! But, I wasn’t left feeling blown away and there was one thing I was a bit iffy on, but *shrug* this book is still amazing and you are crazy if you don’t pick this one up!

Goodreads Synopsis:

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

My Experience:

“You do not enter a race to lose”

I am a huge DC comics geek.  My favorite superhero is Batman, but Wonder Woman is obviously a close second.  To hear about a set of novels being written to merge the comic book world into the novel world and have our favorite characters written in books.  OMG YES.  A million times yes.  I needed this book right away and luckily at Bookcon my husband was able to snag me an advance copy!

I DEVOURED this book.  I ate up all the greek mythology, a subject I loved back in high school and college.  It was really cool to see the different gods and goddesses and see their parts through out the book both good and evil and I think it made Diana’s story that much more interesting.

And the characters! *insert heart eyes emoji here lol* I fell in love with Diana, Alia, and Nim.  Each female characters with each of their own amazing assets.  While Diane is a ridiculously strong and beautiful Amazon, she never dulled the impressive attributes of the other two girls.  Alia, a colored girl with a brilliant mind and heart of gold, so strong in her own right.  And Nim, an Indian girl with curves who is never afraid to leave a lasting impression and speak up when herself or her friends are put down.  I loved that each of these girls were such genuine, inspiring characters and I never felt like they were competing or that I liked one more than the other.  I simply loved all three and looked up to each of them.  These are perfect characters for any girl reading these books to look up too.  And I found that to be really important and a great part of this book.  Not to mention they were just so much fun to read, the witty comments and exchanges.  The many times I would sit and chuckle at the interactions between Diana and men, or Alia and Nim and Diana talking about modern day life.  I’ve gone on far too long about them but point being these were really enjoyable strong female characters. GO WOMEN!

“‘As soon as I have cash in hand, I’m going to eat a dozen cupcakes.'”

“‘Why not eat just one big cake?'”

“‘Because-” Alia hesitated. “I’m not entirely sure. It’s the principle of the thing.'”

Yes, in fact that is one of my favorite moments in this book.  I told you, the humor and wit! It’s great haha.

I still cannot get over one of my favorite Comic book heroes being in a novel written by Leigh Bardugo.  I loved reading Diana’s story and visiting Themyscira and meeting Hippolyta.  The world building was amazing and I loved the magic of it all mixed in with the real world of it all.  The story was so fun and the action scenes were thrilling and I just wish I could kick ass like Diana was through out this whole book.

The reason this wasn’t 5 stars for me (although really it is sorta on principle cause how could it not be) is I didn’t really believe the villain. I won’t go into any spoilers or say who the villain is, but I just didn’t really think their reasons behind their actions or what exactly they were doing made a whole lot of sense.  And while I understood what was going on, I just didn’t find it completely convincing.  Although I will say I did not expect the villain to be who the villain was so that was cool and quite the surprise!

So alas I need all the DC icon books in my hand right now.  I can’t wait for the Batman one, who am I kidding, I can’t wait for all of them.  I love that some of our favorite authors are doing this! For now, mark you calendars for August 29th, 2017 for when this wondrous books hits stores!

 

Leave a Reply

