Bring Her Home by David Bell

Thank you David Bell and Get Red PR for sending me a copy of Bring Her Home in exchange for an honest review.

3.5 stars out of 5 stars!(rounded to 4 on Goodreads since they don’t do half stars and I think it deserves it) I really enjoyed this book.  It reminded me why I love crime/mystery books so much and that need to keep reading and find out all the answers.  I finished this in one day, the shorter chapters made me feel like I was breezing through the read and the little cliff hanger at the end of most chapters kept me pushing forward.  I expected some of the outcomes of this book, but others came to me as a complete surprise.  Nothing like a good mystery to keep your nose in a book for a day!

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the breathtaking new thriller from David Bell, bestselling author of Since She Went Away and Somebody I Used to Know, the fate of two missing teenage girls becomes a father’s worst nightmare….

Just a year and a half after the tragic death of his wife, Bill Price’s fifteen-year-old daughter, Summer, and her best friend, Haley, disappear. Days later, the girls are found in a city park. Haley is dead at the scene, while Summer is left beaten beyond recognition and clinging to life.

As Bill holds vigil over Summer’s bandaged body, the only sound the unconscious girl can make is one cryptic and chilling word: No. And the more time Bill spends with Summer, the more he wonders what happened to her. Or if the injured girl in the hospital bed is really his daughter at all.

When troubling new questions about Summer’s life surface, Bill is not prepared for the aftershocks. He’ll soon discover that both the living and the dead have secrets. And that searching for the truth will tear open old wounds that pierce straight to the heart of his family…

My Experience:

I enjoyed the writing of this book, it was easy to follow and take in.  The story is a very quick read, I am a slow reader so for me to finish this in half a day, at four hundred something pages, says a lot.  The plot had me interested from the start, a middle aged man who just recently lost his wife now finds his daughter in the hospital unrecognizable after being gone for days, what happened?  As the story unfolds and questions are answered and leave more being asked the story gets much more gripping. The many twists in this book started about a hundred pages in which picked up the interest for me even more.  There were more twists than I would have originally predicted as well and that was a pleasant surprise.  I may have called some of the outcomes, but I didn’t see many of the others coming.  That always adds bonus points to a mystery book to me!

I did have some issues with the book though.  I thought Bill wasn’t very developed.  He was overly angry to the point it got annoying a vast majority of the time.  There wasn’t much growth there and his dialog seemed forced at times.  I understand as this is told from his POV this is both meant to make the reader feel like he could be a suspect or is just really upset, even still I felt like his character was stilted and I never felt any particular way about him.  I also thought the first 110 pages were slow and while that was important to build some back story and get to know the characters I just wanted a little something a bit sooner.  However, I was really interested in getting questions answered so it kept me reading and once things did start happening I was glued to the book.

Aside from lack of connection to the main character and a few writing styles I didn’t like, I still enjoyed this book.  As I said, I read it in one day.  It was an easy, very quick read and I suggest it for any mystery fans looking for a fast read.  It didn’t leave me on the edge of my seat and I would have loved it to be a bit more intense, but it kept my interest and I had a great time reading it!

 

Leave a Reply

