Stolen Songs by Samantha Armstrong

3.5 out of 5 stars!  Thank you Koru House Press for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

From page one I was sucked into this world of drugs, parties, reckless parents and music.  As the story unfolds I found myself becoming more and more attached to Maddison and her siblings and her future with the cello.  I finished this story in a day and adored so much of it.  There were a few things I wasn’t big on, but in general for a debut novel this was such an enjoyable read!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Maddison is a survivor. An unstable childhood has taught her to depend on no one but herself, which is exactly how she’s gotten to where she is today. With a scholarship to one of the most prestigious schools in the country, she’s finally able to settle into one location until she graduates. But with foster parents hooked on drugs, Maddison is forced to steal to make ends meet, not only for herself but her foster siblings.

Kingsley is filthy rich. An only child, he lives with a mother who is dependent on alcohol, a father who doesn’t talk to him, and his chef, the only real family he has. His life changes when he overhears Maddison playing the cello. She’s snappy, hot, and wants nothing to do with him, and he’s obsessed. As they spend time together, she begins to lower her guard. She’s everything he needs, everything he wants, and for the first time, he’s able to tell someone about his past. Everything is perfect. Until he ruins it.

STOLEN SONGS is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story of letting go of your past when it means taking hold of your future, finding strength in your mistakes, and giving everything you’ve got to heal the ones you’ve broken.

My Experience:

This starts off cliche, poor foster girl meets rich boy, but it gets so much deeper than that.  The attraction started out a bit quickly to me yet I found that to not bother me as I watched Maddy and Kingsley grow.  There were many times I thought the use of drugs or alcohol were excessive and I wondered where any parents were and were any kids a bit more moral? Yet, I think all the pain and hardships in this book speak to how much the characters go through and the strengths they have to overcome this way of life.

The music theme in this really intrigued me.  I simply just liked this story line and I almost wish there was a tiny bit more focus on the music.  Tilly had to be my favorite side character.  The references to Harry Potter alone made my heart melt and I think I almost liked Maddison’s home life story more than the main story.  I wanted to see her siblings and get to know them more and find out what happened to them.  I got so connected to them and I loved how strong Maddy was for them.

Things I did not like, the over use of profanity.  I swear.  I am a swearer.  But I don’t use it so often that it gives me a headache.  I thought it was a little excessive and while its true to teenagers these days, I do think it could have been toned down a bit and the book would have still had the same out come.  I liked Maddy and Kingsley a lot, but I didn’t connect with them all that much and like I said I almost liked the side stories more than the love story.

This book made me feel an array of emotions and I was definitely surprised by some of the events that took place in this book.  I would love if there was a sequel and we got to find out what happens next for Maddy and Kingsley!  I think this was a great debut novel for this author and I am excited to see what she writes next!

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

