Her Royal Spyness Solves Her First Case by Rhys Bowen *Review*

Thank you so much Berkley Publishing for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

I rate this 3.5 stars.  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Georgie while being whisked back to the 1930s in England.  I loved everything about the settings and all the nods to new age language being used by Americans and living in the culture of the 30’s.  A humorous female sleuth in the royal blood line starting out on her first mystery, this book was equal parts mysterious and endearing.

“I wonder how many people have had life changing experiences while on the loo?”

Goodreads Synopsis:

London 1932. Narrator Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, 34th in line for the throne, is flat broke. She bolted from Scotland — and engagement to Fishface (Prince Stiegfriend) — for London, where she has:

a) built a fire in the hearth
b) fallen for an absolutely unsuitable Irish peer
c) made a few quid housekeeping incognita, and
d) been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son

When an arrogant Frenchman trying to swipe her family estate winds up dead in her bathtub, how can she clear her very long family name?

My Experience:

Georgie is quite the unique character what with being royal blood, 34th in line for the throne, and being as spunky as she is.  Wrestling her spunk with her upbringing brought about many humorous moments and I liked that while she knew how to act properly she also had a bit more personality than others.  She was easily relatable and a good role model for girls, always determined and did what she needed to in order to make a living for herself. Not only that but she was incredibly smart and truly respected herself and what she wanted in life.  Georgie’s pretty cool.

The settings and locations were great, traipsing around London in the 30s while reading about the fashion, food, and culture made me feel as though I was watching Downton Abbey.  I just love that time period and England so I felt this was very well done.

The overall story was just ok to me.  Not bad, not great, a fun read but nothing amazing. I found the mystery to be incredibly easy to figure out.  I knew who it was from the beginning and it took a very long time to really get the story going.  I will say I am not holding the slow pace too much against this book as it is the first in the series so we did need to establish some background on Georgie and get things started.  Yet not much happened until the last 100 pages.  Even then it wasn’t too gripping or exciting.

The characters and time period made this book.  Now that the start for Georgie has been established I am excited to see how the rest of the stories go and the mysteries she solves.     I will have to pick up book two in the series very soon I loved Georgie so much I have to see what she does next!

Leave a Reply

