Sugarplum Way by Debbie Mason *Review+Giveaway+Book Tour*

Thank you so much Forever Romance books and TLC Book Tours for having me on this tour and sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  There is a link at the end of this review to enter a really awesome giveaway where you can receive some fun goodies and a signed Arc of this book!

I am always so excited at the end of the year. In my humble opinion it is the best time of the year and it’s never too soon to start reading some holiday books.  I picked up Sugarplum Way beyond ready to start getting into the Christmas spirt and it totally delivered! Sugarplum Way is the perfect book to kick off the holiday season, full of warm and heartfelt relationships and set in a cozy little town decorated to perfection.  I rate this cute read 3.5 out of 5 stars!

Goodreads Synopsis

Romance writer Julia Landon knows how to write a happily-ever-after. Creating one for herself is a whole different story. But after a surprising–and surprisingly passionate–kiss under the mistletoe at Harmony Harbor’s holiday party last year, Julia thought she might have finally found her very own chance at true love. Until she learns her Mr. Tall, Dark, and Broodingly Handsome has sworn off relationships. Well, if she can’t have him in real life, Julia knows just how to get the next best thing….

Aidan’s only priority is to be the best single dad ever. And this year, he plans to make the holidays magical for his little girl, Ella Rose. But visions of stolen kisses under the mistletoe keep dancing in his head, and when he finds out Julia has written him into her latest novel, he can’t help imagining the possibilities of a future together. Little does he know, though, Julia has been keeping a secret that threatens all their dreams. Luckily, ’tis the season for a little Christmas magic.

My Experience

First off, I do think I would have enjoyed this book even more if I had read the series.  This is number 4 in the Harmony Harbor series and while it can be read as a standalone I think it would be best to read it as part of the series.  I missed out on some of the background of these characters.  Debbie Mason does a good job of summarizing some parts which makes it feel as though you don’t have to read the others, but at times I felt like I didn’t quite know what was going on the way I would have had I read the other books.

The plot of this book was really intriguing.  Secrets are being kept by many of the townspeople especially by our main character Julia.  I sort of had an inkling as the book went on as to what her secret was, but I still wanted to find out and see what would happen with her and Aidan.  I loved the idea that Julia was a writer and wrote her crush into her book it kind of made it fun to see that relationship grow both in real life and in her imagination.  Rooting for them from page one I liked seeing them come together.

I think many of the side characters in this book were fun as well.  One of my favorites being Colleen.  She had me laughing a few times and I just enjoyed her meddling ways.  For a ghost she really knew how to set things in motion.  I also liked Julia’s family.  You don’t see much of them in this book until the end, but are told enough about them that when you finally do get to see them you’re wishing they were there the entire time.

For things I didn’t like, I thought the end was a bit rushed.  Some big secrets were revealed and I thought Aidan had every right to be hurt.  Yet, he was the one who had to win back Julia cause her feelings were hurt by how he reacted??? I just didn’t agree with that, in fact I feel as though Aidan reacted quite calmly considering.  Did I want a happy ending? Of course! I just think it could have happened a different way.  I also felt the big question on New Years Eve was very rushed.  I understand there was a past encounter with Aidan and Julia but they really only had a relationship for a month and a half, then had a big fight, then got back together and BOOM.  It just felt forced.  As if Debbie wanted a really cute holiday ending and it just came off more thrown together rather than sincere.

Overall I am glad I read this book and really want to pick up the first books in this series. I loved how warm this book was and the different aspects from heartbreaking secrets to meddling ghosts.  Be sure to pick this one up for a quick holiday romance that will be sure to put you in the Christmas spirit!

Click here to enter the Sugarplum Way Giveaway!!

 

3 thoughts on “Sugarplum Way by Debbie Mason *Review+Giveaway+Book Tour*

    1. omg you’re well ahead of me I am dreading the shopping haha! But yes for all the cozy holiday reads! Thank you for having me on the tour 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

